Thanks to all who liked my recent post. I am still a neophyte at this, so I don’t know how to thank you personally. I am learning and I will get better at it. My generation didn’t grow up with computers. We still used pencils, paper, dictionaries and encyclopedias. You can bet the only spell check we had was the teacher. So, we are a little challenged. But I’m pretty smart, so I can figure it out.

And speaking of joy: I taught a yoga session on opening to joy the last two days. It went so well that one of my guys whistled as he left class. The poses are meant to open the heart chakra and it seems they do a pretty good job of it. Even with the gloomy rain outside, I left class feeling pretty great. Joy, like everything else of value is found right inside you. If you’re looking for something or someone to bring you joy, you’ll be looking a long time. And if you think you’ve found it outside yourself, you’re bound to suffer disappointment.

Dogs aren’t feeling so joyful today, though. Too wet for their desert run, so they’re lying around looking sad and soulful. At the mere word, “go” they jump up and head for the door. Too bad little ones. No go today.

It’s hard for me too. My chemistry gets off when it’s gloomy out. They even have an official name for it: SAD. Seems appropriate, although grumpy is more like it. It explains why people in the Northwest drink beer and coffee so much. I lived in Poulsbo, Washington one year and nearly went nuts. If I remember right it’s the melatonin we have problems with, but don’t quote me on that.

So, I’m signing off for now to do a little inner work.

